Artist Rachel Horne

Recently, I joined a professional development group for writers called SignPosts, which has started to give me some confidence in my writting and poetry. Although, I have never thought of myself as a writer in 2011 I was invited to a literature festival under the banner of the Dark Mountain project.

Standing in front of a crowd of 200 people I recited stories from my community and growing up years, followed by my spoken word piece “Salt of the Earth”. It was a daunting experience, Dougald is a Cambridge graduate, I fondly refer to him as a “super brain” feeling humbled that the story of my artwork and lost heritage is documented in Dark Mountain movement.

The Observer newspaper reviewed the festival and mentioned my spot “Young writer from South Yorkshire”. I have wrote extensively in journals over the years but never have considered myself to be a writer or…

View original post 428 more words

Leave a Reply

